Liquor and Gaming NSW

​Racing NSW members appointed

Issued:Wednesday 14 December, 2011   [PDF,190kb]

Minister for Racing, George Souris, has announced the appointment of members to Racing NSW following the proclamation today of the amendments to the Thoroughbred Racing Act 1996.

"The new team is of a very high standard and I am most pleased with the breadth and range of skills and experience it brings, including that of the Hon. Kevin Greene who speaks for the race-going public," Mr Souris said.

The new members and their terms are:

  • John M Messara AM, Chairperson, 4 year term
  • Naseema Sparks, Deputy Chairperson, 4 year term
  • Ken M Brown AM, Member, 4 year term
  • Russell Balding AO, Member, 4 year term
  • Tony George Hodgson, Member, 3 year term
  • Alan F Brown, Member, 3 year term
  • Hon Kevin P Greene, 3 year term

"The Selection Panel, comprising retired magistrate Mr David Armati (Convenor), the Hon. Paul Whelan and the Hon John Fahey AO, assessed the candidates on merit and in terms of the prescribed skills criteria as required by the selection provisions in the Thoroughbred Racing Act 1996 (as amended).

They also assessed applicants in terms of the provisions in the Act relating to potential conflicts of interest and whether those matters could be managed or were incompatible with membership of Racing NSW.

After taking those matters into account, the Selection Panel made recommendations in the form which I asked that they provide - that is a list of seven people for membership. This included their respective terms of office and a reserve list of two in case a person from the recommended list became unavailable.

The Panel also provided a recommended list of two and a reserve for the office of Chair and Deputy Chair.

"I have accepted those recommendations without reservation," Mr Souris said.

"The external probity advisers, O’Connor Marsden, have reported that there were no adverse matters regarding the conduct of the selection process," Mr Souris said.

"I would like to thank the outgoing Racing NSW members Mr Alan Bell, Ms Kim Harding and Mr Arthur Inglis for their service to the racing industry."

The appointments and the enabling legislation will commence on 19 December, 2011.

Media: Norm Lipson 0467 734 679 or Jinesh Patel 0467 739 344


Racing NSW is the independent controlling body for thoroughbred racing in NSW. Its main responsibilities are oversighting the strategic development of the industry. It is also responsible for registering race clubs, allocating race dates and prize money, administering the Rules of Racing and licensing bookmakers, jockeys, trainers etc.

John Maurice MESSARA AM

Certified Public Accountant Chairman, Aushorse Marketing (industry marketing group) 2001 – 2008. President, Thoroughbred Breeders Australia Ltd 2007 – 2008. Since 1985 has established and managed leading Australian owned thoroughbred racing and breeding operation – Arrowfield Group Limited. Awarded Member of the Order of Australia in 2008 for service to the thoroughbred horseracing industry, particularly through the introduction of best practice initiatives in the areas of reproduction and stud management.

Ms Naseema SPARKS

Current Managing Director, Y&R Group Sydney Director, Blackmores Ltd; Director, PMP Ltd; Director, Sydney Dance Company. Past President of Chief Executive Women GAICD and former Director of Racing Victoria Ltd.

Kenneth Maxwell (Ken) BROWN AM

Part-time Member of Casino, Liquor & Gaming Control Authority. Former Vice-President Australian Paralympic Committee, former Director-General Dept Gaming & Racing, former Director-General Dept Sport, Recreation & Racing, former Director Liquor & Gaming, former Board Member Australian Tourism Commission, former Board Member Totalizator Agency Board (NSW), former Member NSW Racecourse Development Committee, and former Member Racing NSW. Awarded the Australian Sports Medal in 2000 for services to the paralympic movement. Awarded Member of the Order of Australia in 2001 for service to the development of public sector policies and infrastructure programmes in the areas of tourism, sport and recreation, the hospitality industry and racing in NSW.


Currently Chairman of the Visitor Economy Taskforce and Deputy Chairman of Destination NSW. Non-Executive Director of Cabcharge Australia limited. Former Chief Executive Officer of the Sydney Airport Corporation, former Managing Director of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) and former Director of Finance at the NSW Roads and Traffic Authority. Awarded Officer of the Order of Australia in 2007 for service to the Australian broadcasting industry, particularly through initiatives in the areas of service delivery, advanced technology and financial management, and to the accounting profession through CPA Australia.

Alan Francis BROWN

Solicitor. Former Chairman - Sydney Turf Club, former Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Racing NSW, Principal Director of the Australian Racing Board, Chairman of RacingCorp Pty Limited, Chairman of the Australian Pattern Committee, Chairman of Moss Capital Funds Management Ltd.

The Honourable Kevin Patrick GREENE

Current Director of the Catholic Education Foundation. Former School Principal. Former member for Georges River and Member for Oatley in the NSW Legislative Assembly. Former Minister for Community services (2007 – 2008) and former Minister for Gaming and Racing, Minister for Sport and Recreation, and Minister for Major Events (2008 – 2011).

Tony George HODGSON AM

Certified Practising Accountant with a Specialist Designation in Insolvency and Reconstruction. Fellow of the Australian Institute of Chartered Accountants and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Retired Senior Partner of Ferrier Hodgson, specialist corporate recovery and insolvency management group. Currently a member of the Advisory council of JP Morgan Chase. Awarded Member of the Order of Australian in 2008 for service to business, particularly through a range of executive roles in the finance sector, to the promotion and development of Rugby Union football, and to the horse racing industry.