Liquor and Gaming NSW

Randwick racecourse trustees appointed 

Issued: Wednesday 5 October, 2011    [PDF,101kb]

The new members of the Randwick Racecourse Trust have now been appointed after the NSW Government changed antiquated legislation which appointed trustees for life.

"We have replaced 19 th century conventions with modern practices for the appointment of trustees and land use approvals for Randwick Racecourse to safeguard the future of the iconic home of Australian racing," Minister for Racing, George Souris said today.

Mr Souris said the legislation, which comes into effect on October 7, 2011, allows for the Minister to appoint the Chairman of the Trustees for terms totalling up to eight years.

He announced that Mr David Armati will be Chairman for a period of five years; Mr Paul Whelan and Mr Robert Charley will both be trustees for four years.

Mr Souris said the trustees would oversee new measures introduced to safeguard the racecourse land.

"Randwick Racecourse is original Crown Grant land held by three trustees who grant leases to the Australian Turf Club and approve additional activities such as subleases.

"The measures will provide an appropriate level of control over any future commercial uses of the lands to ensure they continue to be used principally as a racecourse and in keeping with current Crown land management practices which focus on ensuring public benefit.

Mr Souris said the current 99 year lease of the racecourse to the Australian Turf Club was not affected by the changes.

"I want to thank the outgoing trustees for their hard work, diligence and years of honorary service," Mr Souris said.

Media contact: Norm Lipson 0467 734 679


Admitted as a solicitor in 1971 and appointed as a Magistrate in 1984.

Chairperson of the NSW Licensing Court and the Liquor Administration Board of NSW from 1991 – 2008. Former President of the NSW Institute of Magistrates, the Australian Association of Magistrates and the Commonwealth Magistrates and Judges Association. Recently retired as the co-coordinating Magistrate at Manly Local Court. Recently appointment as Deputy Chairman of the Casino Liquor and Gaming Control Authority.

Paul Whelan
LLB. Mayor of Ashfield 1971 – 1976.
Member of the NSW legislative Assembly (Asfield and Strathfield) 1976 – 2003. Minister of the Crown in various portfolios 1981 – 2003, including Minister for Police 1995 - 2001. Currently a thoroughbred horse breeder and owner of Luskin Park Stud.

Robert (Bob) CHARLEY AO
Former Committee member and Chairman of the Australian Jockey Club. In 1997 was elected initial Chairman of the new controlling body for thoroughbred racing – Racing NSW and became the inaugural Chairman of the Australian Racing Board in 1998. Awarded the Officer of the Order of Australia in 1991 for service to the Australian thoroughbred industry.