Liquor and Gaming NSW

First independent members for Greyhound Racing NSW

Issued: Tuesday 24 January, 2012     [PDF,96kb]

Minister for Racing, George Souris, today announced the appointment of the first independent Members to Greyhound Racing NSW, bringing a wealth of knowledge and experience to the industry.

Mr Souris said the highly-experienced Members will play a pivotal role in ensuring the integrity and sustainability of greyhound racing across the State.

"The appointment of the first independent Members to Greyhound Racing NSW represents a new era for the industry and sport," Mr Souris said.

"Collectively the new Members have significant experience in the greyhound racing and wagering industries as well as financial, legal and business skills to take the sport forward."

The new Members and their terms are:

  • George Bawtree – four years
  • Eve McGregor – four years
  • David Clarkson – four years
  • Joyce Alamango – two years
  • Murray Nicol – two years.

"Joyce Alamango and Eve McGregor bring a passion for greyhound racing and high level business skills while the continuity of greyhound racing corporate knowledge is underpinned by the high level experience and skill set of Murray Nichol and George Bawtree. David Clarkson rounds out the team with a strong financial management background," Mr Souris said.

"The new team is the first appointed under the independent model – recognised as best practice governance and management – to ensure Members represent the best interests of the whole industry.

"The appointments follow recommendations from an independent selection panel comprising Michael Foggo (Convenor), Professor Percy Allan AM and Richard Zammit and assisted by probity adviser Rory O’Connor from leading governance firm, O’Connor Marsden.

"I wish the new Members every success in carrying out their important duties when they take up their positions on February 10.

"I sincerely thank the outgoing Greyhound Racing NSW Members Bill Mangafas, Tom Green, Jack Primmer and Professor Percy Allan AM for their service to the racing industry."

Members are appointed based on merit in accordance with the following prescribed skills criteria: experience in a senior administrative role or at a senior level in one or more of the fields of business, finance, law, marketing, technology, commerce, regulatory administration or regulatory enforcement.

A person is ineligible for appointment if they are an employee of a club or member of the governing body of a club and a maximum tenure of eight years applies.

Greyhound Racing NSW Members will elect a Chairperson at its first meeting.


Greyhound Racing NSW is the independent controlling body for greyhound racing in NSW. It is responsible for the strategic development of the industry as well as registering race clubs, allocating race dates and prize money, administering the Rules of Racing and licensing bookmakers and other participants.

Joyce Alamango
Current member of the Board of GRNSW - appointed in February 2008. Member of the Greyhound Racing Authority Board between 2001 and 2003. An active owner and trainer in greyhound racing for more than 32 years.

George Raymond Bawtree
Former CEO of GRNSW. Currently a consultant to public sector agencies. Formerly occupied senior administrative roles with Sydney Water.

David Andrew Clarkson
Currently Financial Controller and Company Secretary of the Australian Financial Markets Association. Former Finance Manager, Australian Jockey Club. Former race club director and advisor to the Greyhound Breeders, Owners and Trainers Association in relation to the 2008 greyhound industry rationalisation project.

Eve McGregor
Current Senior Legal Counsel, Fox Sports. Consultant for Australasian Racing Rights holder. Former Senior Corporate Lawyer, Sky Channel/Tabcorp.

Murray Douglas Nicol

Current member of the Board of GRNSW - appointed in May 2008. President of the NSW National Coursing Association. Formerly held senior positions with AWA Totalisators, Club KENO, Stargames and Shuffle Master Inc USA and consulting positions to NSW Racing, Tabcorp Victoria and Sportsbet Australia (NT).

Media: Norm Lipson 0467 734 679