Liquor and Gaming NSW

New members for Harness Racing NSW

Issued: Tuesday 31 January, 2012   ​[PDF,95kb]

Minister for Racing, George Souris, today announced the appointment of new Members to Harness Racing NSW, bringing a wealth of knowledge and experience to the industry.

Mr Souris said the highly-experienced Members will play a pivotal role in ensuring the integrity and sustainability of harness racing across the State.

"The appointment of the first independent Members to Harness Racing NSW represents a new era for the industry and sport," Mr Souris said.

"The appointees bring a blend of existing corporate knowledge and passion for harness racing, combined with a strong injection of business and regulatory experience."

The new Members and their terms are:

  • Rod Smith – four years
  • Alex Smith AM – four years
  • Graham Kelly – four years
  • Chris Edwards – three years
  • Graeme Campbell – two years.

"The new team is the first appointed under the independent model – recognised as best practice governance and management – to ensure Members represent the best interests of the whole industry," Mr Souris said.

"The appointments follow recommendations from an independent selection panel comprising Michael Foggo (Convenor), Brian Hancock and the Hon Michael Cleary AO and assisted by probity adviser Rory O’Connor from leading governance firm, O’Connor Marsden.

"I wish the new Members every success in carrying out their important duties when they take up their positions on February 3.

"I would like to thank the outgoing Harness Racing NSW Members Rex Horne, Rob Nalder and Les Bentley for their service to the harness racing industry."

Members are appointed based on merit in accordance with the following prescribed skills criteria: experience in a senior administrative role or at a senior level in one or more of the fields of business, finance, law, marketing, technology, commerce, regulatory administration or regulatory enforcement.

A person is ineligible for appointment if they are an employee of a club or member of the governing body of a club and a maximum tenure of eight years applies.

Harness Racing NSW Members will elect a Chairperson at its first meeting.

Media: Norm Lipson 0467 734 679


Harness Racing NSW is the independent controlling body for harness racing in NSW. It is responsible for the strategic development of the industry as well as registering race clubs, allocating race dates and prize money, administering the Rules of Racing and licensing bookmakers, drivers, and trainers etc.

Graeme John Campbell
Current Chairman of HRNSW. More than 30 years of business experience in accounting and finance, and a former Director of Ferrier Hodgson, Chartered Accountants. Current Director of Central Coast Stadiums Pty Ltd, Ainsworth Gaming Technology Ltd and principal of a specialist consulting company founded to provide advice to the hotel and registered club industries.

Christopher John Edwards
Current member of HRNSW Board. Involved in the harness racing industry as a hobby owner, trainer, driver and local steward for more than 25 years. Former Committee Member, President and Vice President of the Dubbo Harness Racing Club, and current Vice President of the Dubbo Show Society.

Graham John Kelly
Former Chairman of TAB Limited, Sky Channel Limited and Centrebet International Ltd. Former Chairman or Director of several financial services companies, including the State Bank of NSW. Inaugural Inspector of the Independent Commission Against Corruption. Former Chairman, Managing Partner and Partner of Freehills, Solicitors.

Alexander Stewart Smith AM
Significant high level public sector experience, including former Deputy Director General of the NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet and the NSW Premier’s Department. Made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2002 in recognition of his contribution to public administration in NSW.

Rodney Graham Smith
More than 21 years of experience in the corporate finance sector and business ownership in the motor retail sector. Breeding, racing and administrative involvement in the harness racing industry, with roles including former Treasurer of