Use space to open navigation items
All ILGA board members

Independent Liquor & Gaming Authority

The Independent Liquor & Gaming Authority is a statutory decision-maker responsible for a range of casino, liquor, registered club and gaming machine regulatory functions including determining licensing and disciplinary matters under the gaming and liquor legislation.

A number of routine licensing functions are delegated to senior staff in Liquor & Gaming NSW.

ILGA's decision-making functions, including delegated functions, are in the ILGA Regulatory Delegations Manual PDF, 1051.73 KB.

View ILGA's Annual Reports on OpenGov NSW under NSW Trade & Investment.

ILGA Board Members

Mr Philip Crawford -  Chairperson

Mr Phillip Crawford was appointed as Chairperson of the Authority on 8 June 2016 after being appointed as a member on 17 March 2016. Philip has practiced law as a solicitor in Sydney for over 40 years. Over many years he has been recognized by his peers and by independent researchers as a leading practitioner in the fields of Litigation, Insolvency and Restructuring, and Alternative Dispute Resolution. In recent years he was referred to as ‘…one of the elder statesmen of insolvency law in Australia…’

Philip was Chairman of Partners of Sydney law firm Henry Davis York from 2010 until 2015. He retired as a partner of that firm in 2016. For the last three years Philip has conducted a mediation practice on his own account, and is now recognised as one of Sydney’s leading mediators.

Mr Murray Smith - Deputy Chairperson

Mr Murray Smith was appointed as Deputy Chairperson of the Authority on 13 November 2019 after being appointed as a Member on 26 May 2016.  Murray is a professional non-executive company director and chartered accountant, with over 30 years experience in the accounting profession.  Murray was a leading insolvency practitioner and restructuring adviser. He was one of the founding partners of McGrathNicol and prior to that a corporate recovery partner at KPMG.  He has experience in a wide variety of industries including working with registered clubs and other hospitality businesses. Murray is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a former Official Liquidator.

Mr Craig Sahlin - Member

Mr Craig Sahlin was appointed as a Member of the Authority on 17 March 2016. Craig is a lawyer and public policy professional who holds an Honours degree in Anthropology/Comparative Sociology and an LLB, and is a recent graduate of the AICD Company Directors course. After seven years as a practising solicitor in the private and community sectors, Craig moved to the public sector to develop policy and legislative skills in a reform context. In the 15 years to 2015, Craig held senior executive and CEO roles in regulatory agencies, where he was responsible for strategic planning, agency and team building, and program development and delivery.

Mr Stephen Parbery - Member

Mr Stephen Parbery was appointed as a Member of the Authority on 26 May 2016. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and a Life member of Australian Restructuring Insolvency & Turnaround Association (ARITA). Stephen is a founder of a national corporate advisory firm PPB Advisory a firm of over four hundred employees and forty partners. He stepped down as the long-standing Chairman and partner of the firm in 2016 to undertake the role as a consultant to the firm and to pursue non-executive director roles.

Stephen has been an advisor to governments acting in such matters as Ansett Airlines, HIH Insurance, ABC Childcare, Arrium Limited and Queensland Nickel. He has also acted in some of Australia’s leading insolvency matters including Lehman Brother Australia. Stephen sits on a number of private company boards in conjunction with undertaking corporate advisory assignments through PPB Advisory.

Dr Nicky McWilliam - Member

Dr Nicky McWilliam was appointed as a Member of the Authority on 26 May 2016. Nicky is a lawyer and practiced as a solicitor in private practice in Sydney and in London. She is a PhD in law in dispute management and mediation. Nicky is a co-founder of Sydney Mediation Partnership, a dispute resolution practice in Sydney where she practices as a mediator. She is accredited with the National Mediation Accreditation System and as a Family Dispute Resolution Practitioner. Nicky holds an appointment as a visiting research fellow in the Faculty of Law at the University of Technology where she leads research projects and teaches as a casual academic.

Ms Sarah Dinning - Member

Ms Sarah Dinning was appointed as a Member of the Authority on 1 January 2017. Sarah is a former NSW Government senior executive with extensive experience in stakeholder engagement, program delivery, and policy development and implementation across a range of portfolios. Sarah holds an Executive Masters in Public Administration and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Sarah has delivered regulatory reform programs and operated in complex environments balancing contemporary expectations, industry drivers and government legislative frameworks.

Ms Samantha Zouroudis - Member

Ms Samantha Zouroudis was appointed as a Member of the Authority on 1 January 2017. Samantha is a solicitor currently working in private practice, primarily in the area of property law, and has acted for a wide range of clients. Samantha has also worked in multi-jurisdictional litigation in London. Samantha completed her Bachelor of Laws degree at the University of Technology, Sydney graduating with First Class Honours, and her Bachelor of Arts degree at the University of New South Wales majoring in policy and environmental studies.

Photo of Mr Paul Gentle

Mr Paul Gentle - Member

Mr Paul Gentle was appointed as a Member of the Authority on 16 October 2019. Paul is a lawyer with degrees in Arts and Law from the University of NSW. He is currently practising as General Counsel and Company Secretary at Sydney Metro Airports. Paul has practised law in the private sector as a solicitor in small city and suburban firms, as a sole practitioner and as a Principal in a mid-tier Sydney firm. Paul has also practised extensively in the public sector at Senior Executive/General Counsel level. He has wide experience in property and commercial law, regulatory processes, commercial litigation and alternative dispute resolution.